Around Havre De Grace
Havre de Grace offers the authentic Chesapeake Bay experience and pleasant way of life on the water’s edge.
Enjoy the Bay while fishing, boating, bird watching or strolling our boardwalk promenade along the pristine Susquehanna River. Discover quaint downtown shopping and many historic attractions such as the Concord Point Lighthouse. After enjoying a wonderful meal at MacGregor’s retreat to comfort and relaxation in one of the gorgeous Bed & Breakfast’s around town.
Concord Point Light
Concord Point Light is a lighthouse in Havre de Grace, Maryland, overlooking the point where the Susquehanna River flows into the Chesapeake Bay, an area of increasing navigational traffic at the time it was constructed in 1827.
Short History of MacGregor’s Restaurant
MacGregor’s was originally built as a grain mill in the 1860’s and called the Edgewater Roller Mill. The old foundation is what we now affectionately call “the dungeon”. It was one of the main suppliers of grain to “The Graw” racetrack, now the National Guard Armory located at the south end of town.
In 1924, The Havre de Grace Banking and Trust Company was built over the foundation of the old mill with an expanded footprint. Thirty-two years later, in 1956 a banking merger took place and the bank’s new name became “First National Bank”. In the mid 70’s, the building was used as a beauty school. In the early 80’s it was turned into an antique store with two apartments upstairs which we now use as our Banquet Room
In 1985, renovation began to turn the building into a restaurant. At that time the two-tiered, all glass dining room was built on to the back of the building. “The Bank Restaurant” opened in August of 1986 and only lasted but eight months before being purchased by Mr. Lee.
In June 1987 the building once again changed hands. The establishment was purchased by the business’s current owner, Daniel W. Lee and his silent partner, Frederick L. Ford. The name MacGregor’s was chosen for the restaurant as homage to his maternal grandfather, William H. Grier. The MacGregor Family House, is located in Dumphries, Scotland.
During the transition period, the side entrance was built and the outside deck added on. The official anniversary date for MacGregor’s is July 23rd. The second story Banquet Room was added in the spring of 1992. It is capable of seating up to 80 people for a sit down dinner or 125 for a cocktail party. In 2003, Daniel Lee became sole owner of MacGregor’s. In 2011 the interior was completely renovated and in 2012, the outside Deck was expanded & renovated including the addition of the outside “Pearl Bar”.
In 2011, Daniel Lee turned over the every day operations to his son, Alex Lee, General Manager, and Stephanie Golumbek, Assistant General Manager. In 2015, Daniel Lee retired and Alex Lee became co-owner. In 2016, Stephanie Golumbek, after 15 years of exceptional service, was also designated as co-owner. The saga continues…in 2017, MacGregor’s celebrated it’s 30th year as a cornerstone in the town of Havre de Grace.